** Volusia County FOP Jim White Lodge 40 is currently conducting a telephone solicitation throughout all of Volusia County. This is for our "Cops For Kids" program. We will be taking underprivileged children from the County and buying them school clothes and school supplies. This program is not possible without the support from all  our friends here in the County. We would like to thank you in advance for your support of this worthwhile program. If you have any questions, feel free to contact our coordinator , John Ross, at our Lodge at (386) 423-2325 or our Committee Chairman, Stephen Hoinacki (State Trustee) at (386) 690-8072. Again, thank you for your continued and ongoing support of our community. **

The Lodge is located at 471 Old Mission Road, New Smyrna Beach, FL. The mailing address is P.O. Box 943, New Smyrna Beach, FL 32170. This Lodge was charted on September 23, 1965 with 30 members who were mostly New Smyrna Beach Police Officers and one Florida State Trooper. W. R. “Wally” Ferreira, the New Smyrna Beach Police Chief at the time, suggested the Lodge be named after Jim White who was Chief of Police from 1927 to 1931. His suggest was adopted.

Meetings in the beginning were held at various places from the Court House, to the Odd Fellows Hall, and even a bar. Then sometime in the 70’s, memories are sketchy, one of the Charter members, the Florida State Trooper, Glen Altafer, who was also the Youth Leader at First United Methodist Church learned the Church wanted to sell its Fellowship Hall. He was able to broker a deal for the Lodge to buy the building for a nominal price. The building was then moved to its present location at 471 Old Mission Road in New Smyrna Beach for a cost of $4000. It sits on approximately four acres purchased for $4000 which includes a wetlands area. Several renovations have been completed through the years to the existing building.

There are presently over 160 members from various law enforcement agencies in this Lodge. We are all proud of the efforts of the Charter members and members who preceded us who have sustained this Lodge.

A special thanks to Glen Althafer, Donnie Goodson, Ken Smith, and Linda Smith whose information aided in the compilation of this history.